Service Details

West Sussex Virtual School Children Looked After

Introduction

The West Sussex Virtual School team comprises a Virtual School Head (VSH), three Virtual School Assistant Heads (VSAH), the Virtual School Teaching Assistant and an administrator. A Data and Research Officer from the Education and Skills Directorate Data and Intelligence team completes the Virtual School resource. The Virtual School Head is the lead responsible officer for ensuring that arrangements are in place to improve the educational experiences and outcomes of those children who are looked after by West Sussex County Council. “Looked After” is the legal term for children in care, taken from the Children Act, 1989.

The Virtual School monitors the educational progress and attendance of all children looked after by West Sussex, providing advice and support to those children and the adults working with those children. In particular, the team supports Social Workers, Carers and Designated Teachers for Children Looked After in planning for good educational outcomes. The team also provides training and development for a range of stakeholders. Personal Education Plans (PEPs) for children looked after are completed through ePEP, an electronic system commissioned by the West Sussex provided by eGov Digital.

The Virtual School team will also provide advice and information to support children who were previously looked after but have moved to:

  • An Adoption Order
  • A Child Arrangements Order
  • A Special Guardianship Order

Please see more information on the following topics on the resources pages:

  • The quick and easy reminder guide for using ePEP.
  • The Pupil Premium Plus Grant.
  • Training and development.

Contact Details

Sarah Clark - Head Virtual School
sarah.clark@westsussex.gov.uk

Carol Finlinson - Assistant Head Virtual School
carol.finlinson@westsussex.gov.uk

Christine Richards - Assistant Head Virtual School
christine.richards@westsussex.gov.uk

Sue Tregear - Assistant Head Virtual School
sue.tregear@westsussex.gov.uk

David Roll - Teaching Assistant
david.roll@westsussex.gov.uk

Tina Marshall - Administrator
tina.marshall@westsussex.gov.uk

Email: wsvs@westsussex.gov.uk

Attachments

No attachments

Useful Links

No links